All MetalShaping

Go Back   All MetalShaping > General Metal Shaping Discussion > Basic questions and answers
  Today's Posts Posts for Last 7 Days Posts for Last 14 Days  

Old 03-29-2010, 04:41 AM

Default unrulely hood curve

Hi Guys, I am trying to make a one piece hood and as I add shape to the sides I find the side edges start to curve inwards If I remove some curve from the sides the edges straighten back out. I am a novice and I can't work out where Iam gonig wrong or what to do to correct this. Any all help appreciated,
Cheers
Jody
Attached Images
File Type: jpg hoodcurve.jpg (30.1 KB, 643 views)
Old 03-29-2010, 04:51 AM

I think you need to tell what you mean by "add shape" (shrink or stretch) and where you add it.

Other than that I suggest you make a small one first, like 50cm long. Then you can experiment with that with more ease and wasting less material while on your way to understanding what your sheet wants you to do.

I just noticed it's your first post here. Welcome!
And what's your name?
Old 03-29-2010, 04:55 AM
MetalShaper of the Month
May 2009, Jan 2012, Dec 2014

Hi Jody,

I take it you are wheeling this panel, if the 'hood' is supposed to be straight sided it should be a simple single curve and does not need wheeling. Simply bend it around something or use a set of rolls.

If I am wrong about the intended shape please ignore the above and give a little more explanation or photos would be good.

David

All things are possible.
Old 03-29-2010, 05:20 AM
MetalShaper of the Month Dec. 2019, Feb. 2022

Pics would be good.

From the sketch it appears to be hour glass shaped towards the front.
That would be a reverse curve at that point.
I know how to bang out a reverse, but not too sure how to wheel one out though.

I would think the panel would need to be flipped and wheeled at those two areas.

my project:
http://www.allmetalshaping.com/showthread.php?t=154
Old 03-30-2010, 10:02 PM

Hi Guys thanks for the reply's, heres some more detail.