All MetalShaping

Go Back   All MetalShaping > Metal Shaping Projects > Beginner Projects
  Today's Posts Posts for Last 7 Days Posts for Last 14 Days  

Old 12-15-2010, 06:38 AM

Default 1973 Opel Kadett B coupe

Hello fellow shapers,

This is my "beginner project". I bought this project knowing pretty much nothing about cars. Slowly i'm learning it all though!

I'm in my 4th year of evening-school studying as a car mechanic. After this semester i'm officially allowed to open up shop (which isn't ever going to happen probably, but its nice to know i can )

In the welding/shaping department its been much slower. Very limited place in the garage ( the old barn had more space, but an earth floor eats dropped nuts and screws... )

Pictures of when i first bought it:

and a quick look at what's ahead...

this is what the passenger side inner sill & floor looks like

On to relevant works My first welding experience on-car.

My first proper welding experience was with a patch for a chassis rail just behind the driver side front wheel.

The first attempt looked like this:

Obviously i made my patch too small and too irregular. Lesson 1 learned

Attempt 2 looked like this:

A much better fit, but i should have cleaned up the edges of the car a bit better and should have gone for an even better fit... but in the end it worked all right:

This is all done with a MIG welder and a manual welding helmet.

Then i treated myself to an automatic welding helmet... boy. What a difference!

This is what persued:

which cleaned up to this:

The black piece is a store-bought patch which didn't fit quite as it should. so after an hour or so of bending and hammering it it came out to this:

Clamped in place with an extra patch piece (i don't actually have a joddler, nor a punch but its cut off a bigger piece of metal which has those features, and was just what i needed )

Bought a copper pipe as a heat sink:

and then first welding with the automatic helmet: