All MetalShaping

Go Back   All MetalShaping > General Metal Shaping Discussion > Basic questions and answers
  Today's Posts Posts for Last 7 Days Posts for Last 14 Days  

Old 09-16-2016, 06:54 PM

Default Forming flanges

So I'm involved in a WWI aircraft restoration and need to know if I'm on the right track with some sheet metal forming. I'm very new at metalwork. I need to make an aluminuml edging around a rubber foot step. The edging is ½” covering the edge of the rubber with a 1/8” flange to cover the thickness of the rubber mat. Two of the four sides are straight and should be doable. The other two sides curve, one curves in the plane of the flange, the other in the plane of the larger flat section. I'm thinking anneal, put it in a form and whack it. fficeffice" />>>
> >
For one form there would be a concave cut out, the aluminum strip would be cut in a curve that matches and placed with a 1/8” overhang which would be hammered down to make the flange.>>
> >
For the other form, the form would be a convex curve. A straight aluminum strip would be placed so it follows the curve and has a 1/8” overhang and whacking occurs, forming the flange.>>
> >
Is this how I should do it? Is there a better way? We are not looking to spend a lot for tools that would essentially be used on these four parts, we're hoping just a hammer and a wooden form will suffice.>>
>>
TIA, Matt>>
Old 09-16-2016, 08:40 PM
MetalShaper of the Month October '14 , April '16, July 2020, Jan 2023