All MetalShaping

All MetalShaping (https://allmetalshaping.com/index.php)
-   Introductions (https://allmetalshaping.com/forumdisplay.php?f=7)
-   -   Looking to expand my skillset (https://allmetalshaping.com/showthread.php?t=19306)

Johnny@WhiskeyBayCustoms 10-08-2019 11:28 AM

Looking to expand my skillset

Hello all. My name is Johnny, and my shop is Whiskey Bay Customs. I am a Canadian living in North Carolina, I have been restoring and customizing classic vehicles for nearly 20 years now and have recently purchased my first reciprocating machine. It's a Gairu MB-5 Nibbler No.527. My hope is to get any information I can about the machine, company, anything really, so that I can get it up and running, expand my metal shaping capabilities and evolve into and even better builder. I look forward to interacting with so many talented metal shapers, and I hope to learn as much as I can.

Cheers!

Steve Hamilton 10-08-2019 01:18 PM

Hi Johnny
welcome to allmetalshaping

Steve

cliffrod 10-08-2019 08:36 PM

Welcome to the forum, Johnny.

Did you buy the MB-5 that was just on Greensboro(?) Craigslist? I bought a slightly larger Gairu MI-8 in Aug. we can talk more about them if you want to call, email or even get together. I'm in Spartanburg.

Johnny@WhiskeyBayCustoms 10-19-2019 08:33 AM

Thanks Guys.

I found this Gairu MB-5 on Craigslist and brought it home from Sanford NC.
I'm looking for any technical information that I can about it, which I already know to be easier said than done. I used a Phase-a-matic converter to wire it in and I got it up and running, but I'm currently at a standstill because I want to finish servicing it before I really get into using it. I know that it needs oil, and a good cleaning, but I don't know what oil it takes. I know that the tooling size is unusual and am looking for any common solutions. Any help would be appreciated.

cliffrod 10-19-2019 09:31 AM