All MetalShaping

Go Back   All MetalShaping > General Metal Shaping Discussion > Basic questions and answers
  Today's Posts Posts for Last 7 Days Posts for Last 14 Days  

Old 09-12-2014, 06:43 PM

Default Need advice: How to re-create Trunk drop tray.

This is my first project using a Shrinker/Stretcher and I need some advice. Maybe i don't even need the shrinker/strecher, but i thought it would make things easier and nicer.

I need and want to recreate The drip tray which is part of the body under the trunk lid. The area i am referring to is shown with the red colored arrows that i point to. This i not my car by the way...

After i do this, i want to rebuild the wheel arches for my truck. The guy that restored that car did a terrible job in that area.

Here is the tool. Picked this baby up for cheap. Pretty excited as i have been looking for a while.

How should i start this off? What other tools will i need? I was thinking of two different approaches:
1. seems more complicated to stretch and shrink. Bend a U shape that is about 3 or so feet long. Shrink one leg of the U to start the bend, then go to the opposite leg of the U to stretch it. Never touch the bottom area of the U

2. Make an L shape. Rather than completely cutting out the drip tray, i would cut out one side and the bottom of it. I would leave the leg that is part of the body and weld my newly formed shape to that.

I am leaning towards option 2 as the factory drop tray has the most rust damage in the bottom the U shape from standing water on those rainy 1950's days. It also seems significantly easier to work with an L shape of sheet metal than a U shape.
Old 09-12-2014, 08:23 PM

Hi Todd.

I would take your option 2 method for sure. There will be no doubt that you will have to shrink/stretch in both directions(Both sides of you L shape)