All MetalShaping

Go Back   All MetalShaping > GETTING STARTED > Introductions
Register All Albums Event Calendar Today's Posts Search
  Today's Posts Posts for Last 7 Days Posts for Last 14 Days  

Old 05-23-2011, 02:57 PM

Default Newbie from the UK

Hi All,

My name is Neil O'Shea and I live in Wisbech, Cambridgeshire UK.

A brief summary of my background is

I initialy trained as a draghtsman when I left school, but I always had an unhealthy interest in cars and motorsport. After being made redundant when the company folded I needed work and took a job at a garage. Whilst working at the garage I became good friends with the guy next door ( Hywel Absalom ) who is an engineer and ran a race car team. I continued working in the garage trade but also worked for Hughie with the race cars off and on for a few years in various formulas of single seaters. After getting more and more dissilusioned by working for garages that ripped people off I decided to start up my own garage business. A few years ago I sold up and moved to my current location in order for my partner to keep horses and for me to have a workshop at home so I could finally get round to building myself a Hot Rod. I have spent the last few years building and tooling up the workshop and learning basic metalshaping ( and shoveling copious amounts of horse manure !!! ). I have learnt a lot about shaping metal but am still very much a novice shaper ( the biggest thing I need to learn is patience. I think I try to get too much shape too quickly and don't spend long enough plannishing and perfecting the fit )